Back when Vertex took on Yaesu, its quality assurance and product line actually returned from the edge of extinction. No, I am not discussing the old FT101-B-E-EEE and F series. They were superior radios. I possessed an FT101B an FT-101E and the matching FL2100B amplifier. That devices offered absolutely nothing but rock strong performance. Equipment either came out of the shipping carton with a host of intrinsic problems or were seriously lacking in features. Perhaps you likewise bear in mind the similarity the FT-757 GXII and its never ending issues. My FRG-7700 receiver was really nicely made for its day and was easy to run. If you were a non-discriminating SWL listener it was a rather strong receiver for the cash. I rapidly discovered to forget about weak signals or trying to choose out DX in a pileup. Yaesu, in their infinite wisdom provided no slots for filters. Trying to do any kind of major listening led to operator fatigue in a really short time period. Considering today's criteria in radios (yes. cellular phone are radios too) I began to laugh when I began considering the contrast between my FT-470 and today's innovation. The integrity consider the FT-470 was great for its time but the radio constantly felt as if you required two hands to hold it and a pencil in between your teeth to push the buttons. I guess we have all become ruined. In addition, the standby time is around 450 hours. I don't remember what my FT-470 weighed however including that extended "high powered":-) If you want to know more, click  Yaesu ft 9000.  i-Cad battery on the bottom made it possible for the radio to increase as a blackjack (bludgeon) if you so wanted. The prolonged battery hanging from the bottom of the fairly small radio reminded me of ballast hanging from the base of a construction crane. It seems that when Yaesu attempted to seriously take on the similarity Kenwood and Icom in those days, their quality control just fell off the cliff and they provided the impression of quiting their effort at competing. As all of us know, Vertex carried out marvels for the Yaesu product. I am not explaining below. A buddy of mine simply bought the FT-897D. With a few shortcomings (do not they all have imperfections), the radio is turning out to be a great performer and seems to be indicative of the future of Amateur Radio gear. I personally think the jury is still out on this but it does appear to be the trend. It was not long ago that Kenwood dropped the TS-570D. That came as a surprise to me. I constantly though of that rig as a mainstay in the long lineage of the Kenwood HF rigs. One begins to wonder if Kenwood is visiting provide the TS-2000 series as its only HF rig in the future. If one breaks, you cannot simply discard the other. Well, suppose you have among these all in one radios and your HF side goes dark. What then. You likewise wind up giving up the working areas of the radio till it returns from from the tech bench. What's you opinion. If anyone can offer information about Motorola's future strategies for Yaesu, please fill me in. Because I have actually been and employee of Corporate America for the past 25 years, I have discovered not to reputable anything I hear or exactly what I am told. Time will tell. For more info, visit this amazing  site



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All